---
title: How to manage IAM groups
description: Instructions on managing groups within Scaleway IAM.
dates:
  validation: 2025-07-15
  posted: 2022-06-20
---
import Requirements from '@macros/iam/requirements.mdx'

import image from './assets/scaleway-iam-users-dashboard.webp'
import image2 from './assets/scaleway-groups-overview.webp'
import image3 from './assets/scaleway-add-user-to-group.webp'
import image4 from './assets/scaleway-delete-group.webp'


You can manage IAM groups in an Organization if you are the [Owner](/iam/concepts/#owner) of that Organization, or if you have sufficient permissions (via [policies](/iam/concepts/#policy)) to do so. Management actions include adding and removing members to groups, attaching and detaching policies to/from groups and deleting groups from the Organization.

<Requirements />

- A Scaleway account logged into the [console](https://console.scaleway.com)
- [Owner](/iam/concepts/#owner) status or [IAM permissions](/iam/concepts/#permission) allowing you to perform actions in the intended Organization

## How to access the group overview

1. Click **IAM & API keys** on the top-right drop-down menu of the Scaleway console. The **Users** tab of the [Identity and Access Management dashboard](https://console.scaleway.com/iam/users) displays.
    <Lightbox image={image} alt="" />
2. Click the **Groups** tab. A list of the Organization's IAM groups displays.
    <Lightbox image={image2} alt="" />
3. Click the name of the group you want to manage. Alternatively, click <Icon name="more" /> next to the application, and select **Overview**. Either way, you are taken to the group's **Overview** page.
    Follow the steps below depending on the management action you wish to take.

## How to edit a group's description

1. From the groups' [Overview page](#how-to-access-the-group-overview), in the **Group Information** panel, click on the text underneath **Description**.
2. Edit the description as required and click <Icon name="validate" /> to finish.

## How to manage a group's users

From the groups's [Overview page](#how-to-access-the-group-overview), scroll down to the **Users** panel. A list of all users in the group displays.

### Add users to a group

1. In the **Users** panel, click **Add users**. A pop-up displays:
    <Lightbox image={image3} alt="" />
2. Select the user you want to add from the drop-down menu, or type the name of the user.
3. Click **Validate**. You are returned to the group's overview page, where the newly-added user now appears.

<Message type="important">
  Keep in mind that, due to replication and caching, any new configuration of permission sets may take up to 1 minute to apply.
</Message>

### Remove users from a group

1. In the **Users** panel, click the **X** button next to the user you want to remove from the group. A pop-up displays asking you to confirm the action.
2. Click **Remove from group** to confirm.
    <Message type="important">
      - Removing a user from a group means that any permissions given to them via the group (i.e. from an attached policy) will no longer apply. Be sure you want to remove these permissions from the user before proceeding.
      - Due to replication and caching, any new configuration of permission sets may take up to 1 minute to apply.
    </Message>


## How to manage a group's applications

From the group's [Overview page](#how-to-access-the-group-overview), scroll to the **Applications** panel. A list of all applications in the group displays.

### Add applications to a group

1. In the **Applications** panel, click **Add applications**. A pop-up displays, prompting you to select the application to add.
2. Select the application you want to add from the drop-down menu, or type the name of the application.
3. Click **Validate**. You are returned to the group's overview page, where the newly-added application now appears.

### Remove applications from a group

1. In the **Applications** panel, click the **X** button next to the application you want to remove from the group. A pop-up displays asking you to confirm the action.
2. Click **Remove from group** to confirm.
    <Message type="important">
      Removing an application from a group means that any permissions given to it via the group (i.e. from an attached policy) will no longer apply. Be sure you want to remove these permissions from the application before proceeding.
    </Message>

## How to manage a group's policies

From the groups' [Overview page](#how-to-access-the-group-overview), scroll to the **Policies** panel. A list of all policies attached to the group displays.

### Detach a policy from a group

1. In the **Policies** panel, click the **X** button next to the policy you want to detach from the group. A pop-up displays asking you to confirm the action.
2. Click **Detach policy** to confirm.
    <Message type="important">
      - Since policies can only be attached to one [principal](/iam/concepts/#principal) at a time, detaching a policy from the application means that the policy becomes orphaned. The policy will remain in your list of policies, but will have no effect until you attach it to another principal.
      - Due to replication and caching, any new configuration of permission sets may take up to 1 minute to apply.
    </Message>

### Attach a policy to a group

A group may be attached to multiple policies.

1. In the **Policies** panel, click **Attach a policy** to attach a policy to the application. A pop-up displays, prompting you to select a policy.
2. Select the policy you want to attach to the application from the drop-down list, or type the name of the policy.
3. Click **Validate** to finish.
    The selected policy is attached to the group, and you are returned to the group's overview page.

<Message type="tip">
  To create a new policy, see our [dedicated how to](/iam/how-to/create-policy/).
</Message>

<Message type="important">
  Keep in mind that, due to replication and caching, any new configuration of permission sets may take up to 1 minute to apply.
</Message>

## How to delete a group

1. From the groups's [**Overview** tab](#how-to-access-the-group-overview), scroll down to the **Delete group** panel.
2. Click **Delete group**. A warning displays, asking you to confirm your action:
    <Lightbox image={image4} alt="A pop up box displaying a warning: Warning: This will permanently delete your group. This action is irreversible and could delete permissions for group members. Policies attached to users and applications via this group will no longer apply." />
3. Type **DELETE** to confirm, and click **Delete group** to validate.


