Jump toUpdate content

How to manage Document Database snapshots

Reviewed on 01 August 2023Published on 01 August 2023

Snapshots allow you to restore data in a new Database Instance.

When you set up Autobackups the automatic backups are created in snapshot format.

You can have up to 100 snapshots per Instance and project (depending on quotas).

Security & Identity (IAM):

You may need certain IAM permissions to carry out some actions described on this page. This means:

  • you are the Owner of the Scaleway Organization in which the actions will be carried out, or
  • you are an IAM user of the Organization, with a policy granting you the necessary permission sets
Requirements:

How to create snapshots

  1. Go to the Snapshots tab of your Database Instance of choice.
  2. Click + Create snapshot.
    Important:

    Make sure your Instance is in READY state before creating a snapshot.

    A pop-up displays.
  3. Enter a name for your snapshot and set up the expiration date and time.
    Note:

    The default retention period for snapshots is 365 days.

  4. Click Create snapshot to confirm.

How to create a Database Instance from a snapshot

You can restore the data contained in a snapshot to a Database Instance. When you do so, a new Database Instance is created and billed to your account.

  1. Go to the Snapshots tab of your Database Instance of choice.

  2. Click the «See more Icon» next to the name of the snapshot.

  3. Click Create Database Instance from snapshot. A pop-up appears.

  4. Follow the steps:

    • Enter a name for your new Instance (1)
    • Select a node type (2)
    • Choose a configuration (3)
    Important:

    It is possible to select a different (larger or smaller) node type for your new Instance. However, the block volume size will be the same as the size of the restored snapshot. All Instance settings will be restored if you chose a node type with the same or more memory size than the initial Instance. Settings will be reset to the default if your node type has less memory.

  5. Click Create Instance to confirm.

    You can see the new Instance in your Database Instances list.

How to delete snapshots

When you delete a Database Instance, the associated snapshots are not deleted. Snapshots will be deleted after the retention period defined.

If you do not wish to wait for the snapshot to expire, you can delete it manually.

  1. Go to the Snapshots tab of your Database Instance of choice.

  2. Click «See more Icon» next to the name of the snapshot.

  3. Click Delete. A pop-up displays to warn you that:

    Important:

    This will permanently destroy your snapshot and all your data will be lost. This action is irreversible.

  4. Type DELETE and click Delete snapshot if you wish to continue.

See Also