---
title: How to delete a bucket
description: Delete unwanted buckets from Scaleway Object Storage.
tags: object storage object-storage bucket
dates:
  validation: 2025-07-01
  posted: 2021-01-04
---
import Requirements from '@macros/iam/requirements.mdx'


<Requirements />

- A Scaleway account logged into the [console](https://console.scaleway.com)
- [Owner](/iam/concepts/#owner) status or [IAM permissions](/iam/concepts/#permission) allowing you to perform actions in the intended Organization
- An [Object Storage bucket](/object-storage/how-to/create-a-bucket/)


When you delete a bucket, every object stored inside it is deleted as well.

1. Click **Object Storage** in the **Storage** section of the side menu. The list of your buckets displays.
2. Click the name of your selected bucket in the buckets list.
3. Click the **Bucket settings** tab.
4. Scroll to the end of the page and click **Delete bucket**.
    <Message type="important">
      - Deleting a bucket will also delete all of its objects. For safety measures, the effective deletion of the bucket will start 24 hours after the deletion request. The bucket name will then be available for other customers to use.
      - Billing for your resources stops as soon as you click **Delete bucket**.
      - Once you confirm your deletion request, the bucket and its objects and versions will no longer be displayed in the console or available via the APIs. For this reason, we recommend you erase all objects and versions in the bucket before requesting the deletion, if you wish the bucket deletion to be effective immediately.
    </Message>
5. If you understand and agree to the conditions, type **DELETE** in the box and click **Delete bucket**.
    <Message type="important">
     Files bigger than 1 GB might take longer to be deleted.
    </Message>
Alternatively, you can delete a bucket by clicking the <Icon name="more" /> icon and then **Delete** in your bucket list.

Once the bucket is deleted, it disappears from your bucket list.

