Scaleway Videoconferencing - powered by Big Blue Button

Big Blue Button and Scaleway Ensemble Overview

Scaleway Ensemble is a complimentary service and will be available until the end of July 2020. We want to provide all our clients with a temporary and free solution that will hopefully help you keep your business running until the end of the current crisis.

Scaleway Ensemble (Big Blue Button) provides a hosted Big Blue Button environment, allowing to communicate with remote team members over fully encrypted connections using TLS/SSL. Scaleway does not process any personal data through the use of this service.

Using Big Blue Button on Scaleway Ensemble allows you to have access to features such as:

  • Sharing of desktops, presentations, and more
  • Inviting users to a conference via a simple, custom URL
  • Exchanging messages while video conferencing, with integrated chat.

Creating a Virtual Conference Room

1 . Open a web browser on your local computer and point it to https://ensemble-bbb.scaleway.com/.

2 . Click on Créer une salle to create a new virtual conference room

3 . Two links are generated:

  • Lien invités: This refers to the link you should send to your guests. A guest can chat, send/receive audio and video, respond to polls, display emojis (such as their raised hand), and participate in a breakout sessions.
  • Lien modérateurs : This a private link for the conference room moderator. A moderator can do the same as a guest and more. A moderator can mute/unmute other viewers, lockdown viewers (such as restrict them from using private chat), and make anyone the current presenter. There can be multiple moderators in a conference room.

4 . Distribute the link to your guests (by chat message, email, …). Guests can click on the link to join the conference directly, without the need for any additional password.

5 . Click on the link generated and enter your name. Click Accéder to join the conference room.

Note: The Enter key on your keyboard does not validate your name. You must click Accéder to access the virtual room.

You are now logged as a moderator in the conference room you created.

Using the Virtual Conference Room

Once connected to the conference, you will be asked if you want to enable your computer microphone to be able to speak or to listen to the conference only. This choice is not definitive and can be changed at anytime during the conference.

Note: Upon the first connection you may be asked to allow access to your camera and microphone for the service. This is required to be able to communicate using Big Blue Button. Scaleway does not store your video or audio information and they are shared only within your conference room.

The Big Blue Button main communication screen displays:

The main options are:

  • Mute: Mute or unmute the microphone of your device
  • Leave Audio: Leave the audio stream of the conference while remaining connected to the conference room. You can follow the presentation or interact with other users in the chat. To join the audio stream again click on the icon.
  • Camera: Disable or enable sharing of the webcam of your local device. The camera is disabled by default. Click on the icon to enable it.
  • Presenter tools: If you are a moderator or have been granted presenter privileges during a conference, you can use this button to launch polls, upload presentations, or share external videos in the conference.

In case the video or audio quality is not optimal or the application uses too many resources (CPU/RAM) on your local machine, you can disable webcam sharing:

1 . Click on the Options button in the right corner of the screen, then on Settings in the menu.

2 . Disable webcams in the Data Savings tab. Optionally desktop sharing can be disabled too for further bandwidth savings.

3 . Click OK to validate:

Accessing Moderator Privileges

If you have joined a conference as a moderator, you have advanced privileges. Moderators can perform the following actions on guests:

Note: As a moderator, your name icon is squared. On the contrary, if you are a guest, your name icon is rounded.

  • Mute user: Moderators can mute guests to restrict them from speaking during the conference. The user can unmute himself if a global mute has been removed from the conference
  • Make presenter: Give permission to a guest to be the presenter. Presenters have the possibilities to launch polls, upload presentations, or share external videos in the conference.
  • Promote to moderator: Promote a guest to a moderator. The user will have the same privileges as the original moderator.
  • Remove user: Remove guests from the conference.

The moderator options are available by clicking on a regular user from the users list:

In addition, you have several other privileges available for the entire conference room. Click on the star wheel next to Users to display the options available to the moderator.

  • Clear all status icon
  • Mute all users
  • Mute all users except the presenter
  • Save user names
  • Lock viewers
  • Create breakout rooms
  • Write closed captions

Accessing Presenter Tools

A presenter can be any user in the conference, limited to only one presenter at a time in each conference room. Any moderator can make any user presenter, including themselves.

A presenter has access to the following features:

  • Upload presentation slides
  • Use the whiteboard draw sketches
  • Enable/disable the multi-user whiteboard
  • Start a poll
  • Share a video
  • Share their screen

The presenter features are available by clicking on the Presenter Tools button:

Discover a New Cloud Experience

Deploy SSD Cloud Servers in seconds.