---
title: How to schedule a secret deletion
description: Discover how to securely delete secrets using the Scaleway console. Follow these steps to manage your sensitive data effectively.
tags: secret sensitive-data storage-system schedule-deletion
dates:
  validation: 2025-10-22
  posted: 2023-02-21
---
import Requirements from '@macros/iam/requirements.mdx'


This page explains how to [schedule a secret deletion](/secret-manager/concepts/#scheduled-deletion) using the [Scaleway console](https://console.scaleway.com). You **cannot delete protected secrets**, i.e. secrets to which you have applied [secret protection](/secret-manager/concepts/#secret-protection).

Once you schedule a secret for deletion, it enters a 7-day pending deletion period, during which you can still [recover it](/secret-manager/how-to/recover-secrets/). After this retention period, the secret and all its versions are permanently deleted.

<Requirements />

- A Scaleway account logged into the [console](https://console.scaleway.com)
- [Owner](/iam/concepts/#owner) status or [IAM permissions](/iam/concepts/#permission) allowing you to perform actions in the intended Organization
- [Generated an API key](/iam/how-to/create-api-keys/) and enabled the `SecretManagerFullAccess` [permission set](/iam/reference-content/permission-sets/)
- Created a [secret](/secret-manager/how-to/create-secret/)


1. Click **Secret Manager** in the **Security & Identity** section of the [Scaleway console](https://console.scaleway.com/) side menu.
2. Select the [region](/secret-manager/concepts/#region) in which to delete the secret, in the **Region** drop-down.
3. Click <Icon name="more" /> next to the secret you want to delete and click **Delete**. A pop-up displays informing you that the action schedules the deletion of your secret and its version.
4. Type **DELETE** and click **Delete secret** to confirm. Your secret displays in the **Scheduled for deletion** tab for a period of 7 days before being permanently deleted.

<Message type="important">
  - Although you cannot delete a [protected secret](/secret-manager/concepts/#secret-protection), you can delete its versions.
  - Deleting a secret is a permanent action. It erases every version you have created for your secret if you do not [recover it](/secret-manager/how-to/recover-secrets/) before the end of the retention period.
</Message>
