Update content

Creating backups of Instances via the Scaleway API

Reviewed on 16 June 2023Published on 26 May 2021

The Backup feature is used to back up your Instance data. It creates an image of a snapshot that contains all your volumes.

Security & Identity (IAM):

You may need certain IAM permissions to carry out some actions described on this page. This means:

  • you are the Owner of the Scaleway Organization in which the actions will be carried out, or
  • you are an IAM user of the Organization, with a policy granting you the necessary permission sets
Requirements:

A backup is created using the command:

POST https://api.scaleway.com/instance/v1/zones/<region>/servers/<uid>/action
{"action":"backup"}

Replace <region> with the geographical region of the Instance. This value can be fr-par-1 for Instances located in Paris, for example. Replace <uid> with the unique identifier of the Instance.

By default, the name of the image is built according to the name of the server and the date:

image_<servername>_YYYY-MM-DD_hh-mm.

Alternatively you can specify a name for the image in the request:

POST https://api.scaleway.com/instance/v1/zones/<region>/servers/<id>/action
{ "action":"backup", "name":"myimagename" }

A backup request will create an Image object (Visible in the href_result: /images/<image_uuid>)

GET https://api.scaleway.com/instance/v1/zones/<region>/images/<image_uid>

An Image contains one snapshot for each volume of the instance. These snapshots are visible within the Image response, as root_volume and extra_volumes fields

Deleting a backup

Run the following call to delete the image that contains a backup:

DELETE https://api.scaleway.com/instance/v1/zones/<region>/images/<image_uid>

It is also recommended to remove every snapshot related to the image by running the following API call for each snapshot that is no longer needed:

DELETE https://api.scaleway.com/instance/v1/zones/<region>/snapshots/<snapshot_uid>