Skip to navigationSkip to main contentSkip to footerScaleway Docs HomepageAsk our AI
Ask our AI

How to delete a volume snapshot

Before you start

To complete the actions presented below, you must have:

  1. In the Scaleway console side menu, click Storage > Block Storage. A list of your volumes appears.
  2. Click the Snapshots tab. A list of your snapshots appears.
    Snapshots generated automatically when you create an Instance image also appear in this list. Deleting the image does not delete these snapshots — you must delete them here individually to stop being billed storage charges.
  3. Click more icon > Delete next to the snapshot of your choice. A dialog box opens.
  4. Type DELETE to confirm.
  5. Click Delete this snapshot.
    Important

    This action permanently deletes your snapshot and all the data it contains. If you do not want to lose this data, make a backup before deleting the snapshot.

Alternatively, you can delete a Block Storage snapshot the following way:

  1. In the Scaleway console side menu, click Storage > Block Storage. The Block Storage page opens.
  2. Click the Snapshots tab. A list of your snapshots appears.
  3. Click the name of the snapshot you want to use to create a new volume. The Snapshot overview appears.
  4. Click Delete snapshot at the bottom of the page. A dialog box opens.
  5. Type DELETE to confirm.
  6. Click Delete this snapshot.
    Important

    This action permanently deletes your snapshot and all the data it contains. If you do not want to lose this data, make a backup before deleting the snapshot.

Still need help?

Create a support ticket
No Results