NavigationContentFooter
Jump toSuggest an edit

How to close an account

Reviewed on 02 March 2024Published on 22 June 2021

If you do not want to use Scaleway services anymore, you can close your account and/or erase your personal data.

Closing your account or erasing your personal data: what’s the difference

Closing your accountErasing your personal data (GDPR)
Use whenYou want to temporarily stop using Scaleway without erasing your account’s settings (e.g., billing information, invoices, security settings, etc.).You want to erase your account and all related data permanently. This action is irreversible.
What is deletedYour resources, services, and backups.Your logs, historic data, account settings, and personal data.
What to do before proceedingRecommended: delete all active resources manually.Mandatory: delete all active resources, backups and services, and make sure all your invoices are paid. Your consumption must be equal to zero.

How to close your account

Closing your account will permanently delete your Organization’s servers, resources, services, and backups. However, you keep access to the Scaleway console.

Before you start

To complete the actions presented below, you must have:

  • A Scaleway account logged into the console
  • Ownership of the Organization you intend to delete
Note

We recommend that you delete all resources before closing your account. Otherwise, the remaining resources will be billed for usage before their manual deletion, which can take up to 10 days.

  1. Access the Settings tab of your Organization dashboard (alternatively, you can go to the User account page).
  2. Scroll down to the Close account section.
  3. Click the Close account button once you have read and agreed with the warning message.
  4. Type CLOSE, then click Continue closing to confirm your decision.
  5. Select the reasons why you are closing your account.
  6. Click Close account. A message appears to confirm that closing has been scheduled.

How to reopen your account

When your account is closed, you can still access the Scaleway console. A red banner in the top navigation bar will display to inform you that your account has been closed. If you want to reopen it, you can create a support ticket by clicking the link in the banner.

See also
How to how to resolve abuse tickets and cases
Docs APIScaleway consoleDedibox consoleScaleway LearningScaleway.comPricingBlogCarreer
© 2023-2024 – Scaleway