Jump toUpdate content

How to manage IAM groups

Reviewed on 09 June 2022Published on 20 June 2022

You can manage IAM groups in an Organization if you are the Owner of that Organization, or if you have sufficient permissions (via policies) to do so. Management actions include adding and removing members to groups, attaching and detaching policies to/from groups and deleting groups from the Organization.

Requirements:

How to access the group overview

  1. Click Identity and Access Management (IAM) from the top-right of your Organization Dashboard in the Scaleway console. The Users tab of the Identity and Access Management dashboard displays.

  2. Click the Groups tab. A list of the Organization’s IAM groups displays.

  3. Click the name of the group you want to manage. Alternatively, click «See more Icon» next to the application, and select Overview. Either way, you are taken to the group’s Overview page.

    Follow the steps below depending on the management action you wish to take.

How to edit a group’s description

  1. From the groups’s Overview page, in the Group Information panel, click on the text underneath Description.

  2. Edit the description as required and click «Validate Icon» to finish.

How to manage a group’s users

From the groups’s Overview page, scroll down to the Users panel. A list of all users in the group displays.

Add users to a group

  1. In the Users panel, click Add users. A pop-up displays:

  2. Select the user you want to add from the drop-down menu, or type the name of the user.

  3. Click Validate. You are returned to the group’s overview page, where the newly-added user now appears.

Remove users from a group

  1. In the Users panel, click the x button next to the user you want to remove from the group. A pop-up displays asking you to confirm the action.

  2. Click Remove from group to confirm.

Important:

Removing a user from a group means that any permissions given to them via the group (i.e. from an attached policy) will no longer apply. Be sure you want to remove these permissions from the user before proceeding.

How to manage a group’s applications

From the group’s Overview page, scroll to the Applications panel. A list of all applications in the group displays.

Add applications to a group

  1. In the Applications panel, click Add applications. A pop-up displays, prompting you to select the applicaiton to add.

  2. Select the application you want to add from the drop-down menu, or type the name of the application.

  3. Click Validate. You are returned to the group’s overview page, where the newly-added application now appears.

Remove applications from a group

  1. In the Applications panel, click the x button next to the application you want to remove from the group. A pop-up displays asking you to confirm the action.

  2. Click Remove from group to confirm.

Important:

Removing an application from a group means that any permissions given to it via the group (i.e. from an attached policy) will no longer apply. Be sure you want to remove these permissions from the application before proceeding.

How to manage a group’s policies

From the groups’s Overview page, scroll to the Policies panel. A list of all policies attached to the group displays.

Detach a policy from a group

  1. In the Policies panel, click the X button next to the policy you want to detach from the group. A pop-up displays asking you to confirm the action.

  2. Click Detach policy to confirm.

Important:

Since policies can only be attached to one principal at a time, detaching a policy from the application means that the policy becomes orphaned. The policy will remain in your list of policies, but will have no effect until you attach it to another principal.

Attach a policy to a group

A group may be attached to multiple policies.

  1. In the Policies panel, click Attach a policy to attach a policy to the application. A pop-up displays, prompting you to select a policy.

  2. Select the policy you want to attach to the application from the drop down list, or type the name of the policy.

  3. Click Validate to finish.

The selected policy is attached to the group, and you are returned to the group’s overview page.

Tip:

To create a new policy, see our dedicated how to.

How to delete a group

  1. From the groups’s Overview tab, scroll down to the Delete group panel.

  2. Click Delete group. A warning displays, asking you to confirm your action:

  3. Type DELETE to confirm, and click Delete to validate.

See Also