Jump toUpdate content

Quickstart

Reviewed on 21 February 2023Published on 21 February 2023

Scaleway’s Secret Manager allows you to conveniently store, access and share sensitive data such as passwords, API keys and certificates. In this quickstart, we show you how to create and manage a secret, how to create and manage a secret’s version and how to delete your resources once you are done using them.

Security & Identity (IAM):

You may need certain IAM permissions to carry out some actions described on this page. This means:

  • you are the Owner of the Scaleway Organization in which the actions will be carried out, or
  • you are an IAM user of the Organization, with a policy granting you the necessary permission sets
Requirements:

How to create a secret

  1. Click Secret Manager in the Security and Identity section of the Scaleway console side menu. The Secret Manager overview page displays.
  2. Click Create a secret.
  3. Configure your secret:
    • Select the region in which you want to create your secret. Your secret will be duplicated in all the Availability Zones of the selected region.
    • Enter a name for your secret.
    • Optionally, add tags.
    • Add your secret manually or click «Plus Icon» to import it from a file.
    Note:

    The maximum file size for your secret is 64 KiB.

  4. Click Create secret.

How to manage a secret

  1. Click Secret Manager in the Security and Identity section of the Scaleway console side menu. Your newly created secrets display.
  2. Click «See more Icon» next to the secret you want to manage.
  3. Click More info. Your secret’s overview page displays.
  4. Click Copy to copy your secret’s ID.
  5. Click the Tags bar and add more tags to organize your secret.
  6. Copy the code examples for the applications from which you want to get your secret.

How to create a version of a secret

  1. Click Secret Manager in the Security and Identity section of the Scaleway console side menu. Your secrets display.
  2. Click the secret you want to add a version to. Your secret’s overview page displays.
  3. Click the Versions tab.
  4. Click «Plus Icon» and Create a new version. A pop-up displays.
  5. Add your version manually or click «Plus Icon» to import it from a file.
  6. Click «Toogle Icon» to enable or disable the version.
  7. Click Add new version.

How to manage a version of a secret

  1. Click Secret Manager in the Security and Identity section of the Scaleway console side menu. Your secrets display.
  2. Click the secret you want to add a version to. Your secret’s overview page displays.
  3. Click the Versions tab. The versions of your secret display.
  4. Click «See more Icon» next to the version you want to manage.
  5. Click Disable to disable one specific version of your secret.
  6. Click Copy version’s value to copy the value of your version.

How to delete your secret

  1. Click Secret Manager in the Security and Identity section of the Scaleway console side menu. Your secrets display.
  2. Click «See more Icon» next the secret you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete. A pop-up displays.
  4. Type DELETE and click Delete secret.
Important:

Deleting a secret is permanent. All of the versions you have created for your secret will be deleted.

How to delete a version of a secret

  1. Click Secret Manager in the Security and Identity section of the Scaleway console side menu. Your secrets display.
  2. Click the secret for which you want to delete the version. Your secret’s overview page displays.
  3. Click the Versions tab.
  4. Click «See more Icon» next to the version you want to delete.
  5. Click Delete. A pop-up displays.
  6. Type DELETE and click Delete version.
Important:

Deleting a version is permanent. You will not be able to use the version again.