Jump toUpdate content

How to configure DNS zones

Reviewed on 07 June 2021Published on 07 June 2021

A DNS zone is a distinct part of the domain namespace and allows granular control of DNS components.

It contains configuration stored in multiple DNS records. Each record consists at least of a type, a time to live (TTL) and a value (for example type A records contain information to resolve a domain name to its associated IP address).

Each Zone Name created translates into a Domain Name. For example the zone myzone in the domain example.com becomes myzone.example.com. This works also on multiple levels, meaning that the zone myzone.subdomain becomes the domain name myzone.subdomain.example.com.

Requirements:

How to add a new DNS zone

  1. Click DNS in the Network section of the Scaleway Console side menu. The DNS zone dashboard displays.

  2. Click «See more Icon», then More info next to the relevant domain. The Domain Information page displays.

  3. Click the Zones tab. A list of the zones configured within the selected domain displays.

    Note:

    The Root Zone is always available, by default. This zone is directly associated with the domain name and cannot be deleted. It will only be removed from the DNS when its associated domain name is deleted.

  4. Click + Add Zone to create a new DNS zone. A pop up box displays. Enter a name for the new zone and conclude by clicking Add Zone.

How to edit an existing DNS zone name

  1. Click DNS in the Network section of the Scaleway Console side menu. The DNS zone dashboard displays.

  2. Click «See more Icon», then More info next to the relevant domain. The Domain Information page displays.

  3. Click the Zones tab. A list of the zones configured within the selected domain displays.

  4. Click «See more Icon», then then Edit Name in the Zones page to edit a zone’s name.

  5. Enter a new name in the pop-up box, then click Edit Name to confirm.

How to delete an existing DNS zone

  1. Click DNS in the Network section of the Scaleway Console side menu. The DNS zone dashboard displays.

  2. Click «See more Icon», then More info next to relevant domain. The Domain Information page displays.

  3. Click the Zones tab on the Domain Information page. A list of the zones configured within the selected domain displays.

  4. Click «See more Icon», then then Delete in the Zones page to delete a zone.

  5. Type DELETE in the pop-up form and click Delete this zone to confirm the action:

    Important:

    Be careful! This will permanently delete your zone and all its associated data will be lost. This action is irreversible.

See Also