HomeServerlessMessaging and QueuingHow to
Deactivate or delete a Messaging and Queuing service
Jump toUpdate content

How to deactivate or delete a Messaging and Queuing service

Reviewed on 03 October 2023Published on 03 October 2023

This page shows how to deactivate an SQS or SNS service, or delete a NATS account. These two processes are different, but equivalent.

Security & Identity (IAM):

You may need certain IAM permissions to carry out some actions described on this page. This means:

  • you are the Owner of the Scaleway Organization in which the actions will be carried out, or
  • you are an IAM user of the Organization, with a policy granting you the necessary permission sets
Requirements:

How to deactivate SNS or SQS

  1. Click Messaging in the Serverless section of the Scaleway console side menu. The list of Messaging and Queuing protocols displays.

  2. Click SQS or SNS depending on which protocol you want to deactivate.

  3. Click the Settings tab.

  4. In the bottom panel, click the Deactivate button for the protocol.

    A pop-up displays, reminding you that any existing SQS (or SNS) resources you have will be permanently deleted, and that you will not be able to create any new queues/topics or credentials unless you reactivate the protocol.

  5. Click Deactivate SQS (or SNS) to confirm.

How to delete a NATS account

  1. Click Messaging in the Serverless section of the Scaleway console side menu. The list of Messaging and Queuing protocols displays.

  2. Click NATS, then click the NATS account you want to delete.

  3. In the bottom panel, click the Delete NATS account button.

    A pop-up displays, reminding you that the action is irreversible, and any associated queued messages and credentials will be deleted.

  4. Type DELETE and click Delete NATS account to confirm.

See Also