HomeServerlessMessaging and QueuingHow to
Manage credentials for a Messaging and Queuing namespace
Jump toUpdate content

How to manage credentials for a Messaging and Queuing namespace

Reviewed on 08 June 2023Published on 11 August 2022

This page shows how to manage credentials for a Messaging and Queuing namespace. Credentials for an SQS/SNS namespace can be updated to change their permissions, or revoked. Credentials for a NATS namespace can only be revoked, not updated. Once credentials are revoked, any user trying to use the credentials to connect to the Messaging and Queuing namespace will be denied.

Security & Identity (IAM):

You may need certain IAM permissions to carry out some actions described on this page. This means:

  • you are the Owner of the Scaleway Organization in which the actions will be carried out, or
  • you are an IAM user of the Organization, with a policy granting you the necessary permission sets
Requirements:

How to update SQS/SNS credentials

  1. Click Messaging in the Serverless section of the side menu. The list of your Messaging and Queuing namespaces displays.

  2. Click the SQS/SNS namespace whose credentials you want to update. The namespace’s Overview page displays.

  3. In the Credentials panel, click the «See more Icon» button next to the credentials you want to update. A menu displays.

  4. Select Update credentials. A popup displays.

  5. Make the required updates to your credentials. You can modify the name, and the permissions.

  6. Click Update credentials.

    The credentials are updated and you are returned to the namespace’s Overview page. The updated credentials can be seen in the Credentials tab.

How to revoke credentials

  1. Click Messaging in the Serverless section of the side menu. The list of your Messaging and Queuing namespaces displays.

  2. Click the namespace you wish to revoke credentials for. The namespace’s Overview page displays.

  3. In the Credentials panel, find the credentials you wish to revoke.

    • For NATS credentials, click the «Delete Icon» button next to the relevant credentials to revoke them
    • For SQS/SNS credentials, click the «See more Icon» button next to the relevant credentials, and select Revoke from the drop-down menu.

    A pop-up displays reminding you that this action is irreversible.

  4. Click Revoke credential to confirm.

    The credentials are revoked and you are returned to your namespace’s overview page.

See Also