Update content

How to delete a Block Storage volume

Reviewed on 23 November 2023Published on 23 November 2023
Security & Identity (IAM):

You may need certain IAM permissions to carry out some actions described on this page. This means:

  • you are the Owner of the Scaleway Organization in which the actions will be carried out, or
  • you are an IAM user of the Organization, with a policy granting you the necessary permission sets
Requirements:
Important:
  • You must detach your volume from the Instance it is linked to. Refer to our documenation to find out how to do so.
  • We highly recommend that you unmount your device from the operating system before detaching the Block Storage volume, to avoid data loss.
  1. Click Block Storage in the Storage section of the Scaleway Console side menu. A list of your volumes displays.
  2. Click «See more Icon» > Delete next to the volume of your choice. A pop-up displays.
  3. Type DELETE to confirm.
  4. Click Delete volume to remove the volume from your account.
    Important:

    This action permanently deletes your volume and all the data it contains. If you do not want to lose this data, make a backup before deleting the volume.

See Also