Jump toUpdate content

How to manage Database snapshots

Reviewed on 08 June 2021Published on 10 March 2021

Snapshots is a feature with which you can back up an entire Instance, instead of creating individual automated database backups. It is only available for Database Instances that use Block Storage volumes.

When you set up Autobackups for Instances that use Block Storage, the automatic backups are created in Snapshot format.

You can have up to 100 Snapshots per Instance and project (depending on quotas).

Requirements:

How to create snapshots

  1. Go to the Snapshots tab of your Database Instance of choice.

  2. Click + Create Snapshot.

    Important:

    Make sure your Instance is in READY state before creating a snapshot.

    A pop up displays.

  3. Enter a name for your snapshot and set up the expiration date and time.

    Note:

    The default retention period for Snapshots is 365 days.

  4. Click Create Snapshot to confirm.

How to delete snapshots

When you delete an Instance, its associated snapshots are not deleted. Snapshots can be manually deleted or will be deleted after the retention period defined.

If you do not wish to wait for the snapshot to expire, you can delete it manually.

  1. Go to the Snapshots tab of your Database Instance of choice.

  2. Click «See more Icon» next to the name of the snapshot.

  3. Click Delete.

    A pop up displays to warn you that:

    Important:

    This will permanently destroy your Snapshot and all your data will be lost. This action is irreversible.

  4. Click Delete this snapshot if you wish to continue.

How to restore snapshots

When you restore a Snapshot, a new Instance is created and billed to your account.

  1. Go to the Snapshots tab of your Database Instance of choice.

  2. Click the «See more Icon» next to the name of the snapshot.

  3. Click Create Instance from Snapshot. A pop up appears.

  4. Follow the steps:

    • Enter a name for your new Instance (1)
    • Select a node type (2)
    • Choose a configuration (3)
    Important:

    It is possible to select a larger node type for your new Instance. However, the Block volume size will be the same as the size of the restored Snapshot. All Instance settings will be restored if you chose a node type with the same or more memory size than the initial Instance. Settings will be reset to the default if your node type has less memory.

  5. Click Create Instance to confirm.

You can see the new Instance in your Database Instances list.

See Also