NavigationContentFooter
Jump toSuggest an edit

How to use bucket versioning

Reviewed on 23 November 2023Published on 27 May 2021

Versioning is a feature designed to keep multiple variants of an object in the same bucket. When enabled, it allows you to store, retrieve, and restore every version of your objects stored in a bucket.

Versioning allows you to easily recover your objects in case of unintended user actions or application failures.

Before you start

To complete the actions presented below, you must have:

  • A Scaleway account logged into the console
  • Owner status or IAM permissions allowing you to perform actions in the intended Organization
  • An Object Storage bucket

How to enable versioning

  1. Click Object Storage in the Storage section of the side menu. A list of your buckets displays.
  2. Click the name of your selected bucket.
  3. Click the Bucket settings tab.
  4. Scroll down and click the toggle «Toogle Icon» under Bucket versioning. A pop-up appears.
  5. Type ENABLE to confirm your action, then click Enable bucket versioning to proceed.
Note

Once versioning is enabled, uploading an object with the same name as an existing object will create a new version of it, and more storage, which may lead to higher costs.

How to manage object versions

  1. Click Object Storage in the Storage section of the side menu. A list of your buckets displays.

  2. Click the name of your selected bucket. A list of the objects it contains appears.

  3. Click «See more Icon» next to the object you want to manage, then click Versioning. A list of the object versions displays.

  4. Click «See more Icon» next to a non-current object version to download or permanently delete it.

Note

To restore an object to a previous version, download the desired non-current version and upload it again. This action will replace the current version with the uploaded one.

How to suspend versioning

  1. Click Object Storage in the Storage section of the side menu. A list of your buckets displays.
  2. Click the name of your selected bucket.
  3. Click the Bucket settings tab.
  4. Scroll down and click the toggle «Toogle Icon» under Bucket versioning. A pop-up appears.
  5. Type SUSPEND to confirm your action, then click Suspend bucket versioning to proceed.
Important

Once versioning is suspended, no new object versions will be created. Versions created up until this point will remain stored and billable. Uploading an object with the same name as an existing object will overwrite it.

See also
How to access objects via HTTPSHow to manage lifecycle rules
Docs APIScaleway consoleDedibox consoleScaleway LearningScaleway.comPricingBlogCarreer
© 2023-2024 – Scaleway
<